"Pre-Base Building" - Get Conditioned for the Real BB

grouchyjarhead

"Pre-Base Building" - Get Conditioned for the Real BB

Post by grouchyjarhead »

(Reposted from the Reddit forum)

I just recently set this up for a friend of mine who is out of shape and looking to get back into fitness, but the actual Base Building approach was too much for him being as he was so deconditioned. Thanks to TB 3rd Edition, I was inspired by SE Alpha and designed this for him. It's a way for a complete beginner who may not be in enough shape to do the first few weeks of BB to build up the fitness to achieve that in an easy but effective way.

SE = Strength Endurance Cluster. Sets x reps. Rest 90 or 60 sec in between sets. Rest 2-3 minutes in between exercises. If you have to stop to rest and catch your breath, do so but do all of the repetitions. Using an empty barbell, do the following exercises (the sit-ups are done using just bodyweight): (1) Overhead Press (2) Bent Over Rows (3) Back Squats (4) Romanian Deadlifts (5) Sit-Ups.

E = Endurance Training. A combination of walking and running to start. Start off by jogging for 60 sec and walking for 90 sec. On W1, repeat 6 times for a total of 15 minutes. On W2, repeat 8 times. On W3, repeat 10 times. On W4, repeat a total of 12 times for 30 minutes. On W5, try jogging for 90 sec and walking for 60 sec - repeat a total of 12 times. On W6, try jogging for 2 minutes and walking for 1 minute - repeat a total of 10 times. On the sixth day, just run and walk for as long as you can. Do at LEAST the minimum, but go longer if you can.

SE complex can vary obviously, but I think the E approach is solid. He has no access to kettlebells so rather than go just plain BW we went with barbell work for SE. This way too he'll get some form work in so I can get him started on proper lifting once he's ready.
Give it a shot and let me know if it works out for you.

ABOUT GROUCHYJARHEAD: