Is Base Building Mandatory?

MxS/SE/HIC/E
NFARCH

Is Base Building Mandatory?

Post by NFARCH »

Hello all, question:

I have zero issues with my steady state aerobic system, it serves me well for what I do as is. Right now I really want to focus on building strength, muscle, and keep the cardio HIIT style.

I've been using Operator for several months now with awesome results in the strength and muscle department. I just finished reading TB2 last night and am ready to start a more structured cardio protocol. I definitely want to do Black + Op, but I'm wondering if I really need to go through Base for my goals.

Can I just dive right in to Black, or is Base mandatory?

Tym87

Re: Is Base Building Mandatory?

Post by Tym87 »

If you already have a highly conditioned aerobic system and a good base of endurance, I'd say go straight into whatever keeps you training. A lot of military guys I know wouldn't need to do it because it's pretty much what they have been doing their whole career.

I will say though it is a good eye opener to some fitness gaps we all might overlook. If you did do BB, you could start on the higher end of the LSS times (40-45 min first week) or pick something you may not be so great at already and base build with that (swimming instead of running, running instead of rucking, etc.)

Train_Hard_Live_Easy

Post by Train_Hard_Live_Easy »

Is it Mandatory..... I would say no......

Is it a good idea to do basebuilding first?.......... I would say an emphatic yes.