Jerry’s Training Log

Monster Smash

Jerry’s Training Log

Post by Monster Smash »

Thought I would start a log here to watch my progress over time.

I’m 57, a desk jockey, and very inactive during my days. I work in IT, so I sit a lot.

I have been doing mostly powerlifting and PowerBuilding (which is just old school powerlifting) for many years now. I have never competed, although I have trained to compete then I seem to always get hurt as I start moving big weight. I think the truth is, I’m not built for it. I should have hired a professional coach and worked through things, but I’m too pig headed.

My last stint trying to compete, my knees gave out. It’s been a year, and I’m finally getting to where I can do box squats with a bar. It’s feeling good too. So, typically, being in this predicament, I would start a 5/3/1 cycle and go from there. However, I was roaming around on Reddit, and came across Tactical Barbell. I had heard of it before. But dismissed it because I’m not military, LEO, or any kind of first responder. But, as I was learning about, I was thinking, I need this.

What attracted me to it mostly is the minimal barbell work, and the application of the other stuff. At 57, my blood work is shaky. I’m not overweight, but I do have some issues. I have tried CrossFit, but ended up not feeling like I was getting anywhere and the training days were very long. I think I was accidentally doing a professional program. Lol. Anyway, it was cool learning Olympics lifts. I liked that part.

As I read about the TB methods, a couple things stuck out: 1) I love the flexibility, 2) I dig the HIC sessions as part of the program. 5/3/1 had prowler pushes and things but, it was never really embedded into the program. He just says to do it, but no one does. But, the way TB is designed, it’s part of your training. I don’t know, it just seems like it’s is a bigger part of the training, which I dig.