Boon’s Training Notebook

godjira1

Boon’s Training Notebook

Post by godjira1 »

Introduction: I am a 39 year old, in reasonably good shape, trying to balance the demands of getting better at bjj, having a good aerobic base, decent amount of strength, and oh, real life too.

Constraints: have a few injuries that are unlikely to heal fully - main ones are a wonky left shoulder (judo injury when i was back in high school), and a right knee without an acl (more recent vintage injury, courtesy of judo as well back in Jul17).

I was an infantry officer (conscription) and did my usual peace time callup (a couple weeks/year) until I was 32. So long story short was that I fell out of shape after, got back into shape and am now trying to make incremental changes.

Current program is simple, a 2 week program that runs for most of the year except Dec/Jan which I use for my aerobic base building. In Tactical Barbell terms I use a Fighter Template, rep/sets are closer to 5/3/1 style though.

Wk A:
Day 1: BJJ
Day 2: 2 lift cluster (lite) + dynamic plyo
Day 3: BJJ (option rest)
Day 4: 2 lift cluster (med) + dynamic plyo
Day 5: BJJ
Day 6: REST
Day 7: Endurance

Wk B:
Day 2: Lower body (heavy) + box jumps
Day 4: Upper body (heavy) + dynamic plyo

Lifts: i cycle between A) Deadlift + BP or OHP; B) Front Squat + Pullups. A few times a year I sub it with the simple & sinister plan (kb swings and tgu).

Endurance: i generally do long steady state maf type runs. 3-7 miles is the general range.
Last edited by godjira1 on Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:05 am, edited 4 times in total.
It ain't what you don’t know that gets you into trouble.
It's what you know for sure that just ain’t so.

Barkadion

Re: Boon’s Training Notebook

Post by Barkadion »

godjira1 wrote:Quick introduction: I am a 39 year old, in reasonably good shape, trying to balance the demands of getting better at bjj, having a good aerobic base, decent amount of strength, and oh, real life too.