Intraworkout nutrition

tk_swag1234

Intraworkout nutrition

Post by tk_swag1234 »

Hello everyone. Due to my academic schedule, I usually do multiple workouts in one session. For example, I start off with a TB 5x5 max-strength session, then I exit the gym and do a LSS run, then I meet up with training partners for sparring. As a result, I can be training for up to 3 hours in one session. Sometimes I notice I feel depleted in the middle of the sessions so I am looking into anything I can consume during training that will let me go for longer. Any suggestions? Thank you.

mauldms

Re: Intraworkout nutrition

Post by mauldms »

I'm no nutritional expert so take it with a grain of salt. I have some experience doing longer endurance events (40-50 mile rucks/runs that are usually 10+ hours if not longer). Sounds like your body just needs some additional carbs and electrolytes. It is anecdotal and based upon my experiences and some trial and error but I always found that, depending on intensity, anything longer than 3 or 4 hours I would need to start refueling hourly (my preference was GU gel). Since you are right around that 3 hour mark I'd do some trial and error with a GU right before your workout and then a GU around the 90 minute mark to power you through. Or you could mix it up and use GU and an electrolyte beverage of your choice. I'd also recommend that you ensure you are eating some carbs an hour or two before you start your session (my go to was a bagel or white bread with some peanut butter and honey).

tk_swag1234

Post by tk_swag1234 »