Body Comp and Life Style

RescueStrong4205

Body Comp and Life Style

Post by RescueStrong4205 »

Hey guys I have a quick question about nutrition and body recomp. I'm about 215 at 6'2 and am really looking to change my body comp and possibly get a little lighter. I'm not a crossfitter but admire their athleticism and body comp. Iv tried counting calories, carb cycling, using templates etc but always fall off after a couple of weeks because it does my head in counting everything and I cant see it as something sustainable long term. I know PN has been mentioned before and was just wondering if eating 4 meals based on hand size is adequate enough to support body comp goals as well as training and life (Im a career firefighter and also am lucky enough to work a great second job overseeing firefighter cpat and skill training.)  My biggest goal is to create a lifestyle that will have me training well into my older age and eating well and practically. Some guys are also interested in this at the hall. We read so much about cutting and bulking bust most of us just want to perform well and look decent year round. I don't need or want to look like a guy who is ready to step on stage but I have always looked at guys like Ross Enamait who are in great shape and are lean and athletic yet don't count calories or macros.  Thanks, Matt.

K.B.
Site Admin

Re: Body Comp and Life Style

Post by K.B. »

I don't normally give out nutrition advice, but in my experience form follows function. As long as you're consistently active and apply a little common sense when eating. Some 'common sense':

Get in 1gm/lb protein every single day.
Eat enough carbohydrate to fuel your activity. If you're too weak (because of low carb) to consistently train you're robbing Peter to pay Paul. Low carb will also affect your recovery.