Meditation

Will you give yourself to this program....?
CannonballRun

Meditation

Post by CannonballRun »

Anyone do meditation regularly and find it helpful for stress reduction? If so, do you have any particularly favorite resources for learning more about it?

fffrmaz

Re: Meditation

Post by fffrmaz »

yes. I've been practicing for 19 years now. I really like the app "headspace". As far as meditation apps go it's the only one I've seen that actually teaches meditation technique. There's no music, no white noise, just instruction and silence. It's well worth purchasing. If you're looking for a book, I really liked "the joy of living". It's also a good instruction manual and the author puts the concepts into easy to understand language and ideas. It doesn't have any hippy-dippy stuff in it. No new age bullshit. Just practice.

Saracen

Post by Saracen »

CannonballRun wrote:Anyone do meditation regularly and find it helpful for stress reduction? If so, do you have any particularly favorite resources for learning more about it?
Mindfulness in Plain English is a good book to start with. It's available for free (by author) on the net somewhere. I've been doing simple breath meditation for about 7 years now, highly recommend it.

Sorntel

Post by Sorntel »

I'd be interested in learning more about this myself...I've experimented here and there but nothing regular and don't really know where to start. Anyone know anything about Transcendental Meditation?

CannonballRun

Post by CannonballRun »

Thanks everyone for the suggestions. I am gonna look into the resources. It's a topic I've been interested in for a while.

Geidi

Post by Geidi »

This works for me in the evenings, and has some science behind it:

http://www.relaxationresponse.org/steps/

crnewhouse

Post by crnewhouse »

I use an HRV app that has a guided breathing piece. I play that on my drive home from work, because I will run someone off the road otherwise.