LEO career advice

The Lounge
Tym87

LEO career advice

Post by Tym87 »

Ultimately I want to be a LEO and a detective. Would you say being an officer vs being enlisted in the military is any advantage on a resume? I have a BA degree in an unrelated field but I'm working on an MBA while I'm in. Would this also help/hurt a Leo resume?

I've spoke with a few detectives and swat guys and it's all over the place in terms of advice

grouchyjarhead

Re: LEO career advice

Post by grouchyjarhead »

Any kind of military service in the US helps as many tests give veterans extra points. Our civil service test gave vets an additional 10 points, so I ended up being over the maximum score and in the top 5.

Any kind of degree can help as well depending on the department. Some even offer incentive pay for advanced degrees.

Balaclava

Post by Balaclava »

I think any military service + a degree looks very very good on a LEO resume. Enlisted or knighted.

Tym87

Post by Tym87 »

Would you say being knighted has any distinct advantages? Maybe for federal?

Balaclava

Post by Balaclava »

Tym87 wrote:Would you say being knighted has any distinct advantages? Maybe for federal?
Possibly, you can play up the leadership aspect. But if you're already enlisted with military experience then you have to weigh the time and effort it'll take you to become an officer VS directly going for your goal of LEO. Others may have a different opinion but I would say the effort and loss of time isn't worth the slight edge you may or may not get from being an officer.

Tym87

Post by Tym87 »

Balaclava wrote:
Tym87 wrote:Would you say being knighted has any distinct advantages? Maybe for federal?