The Sasquatch Project

Sasquatch

The Sasquatch Project

Post by Sasquatch »

The Background:

I am brand new to Tactical Barbell, but I have been training consistently for 20+ years. Coast Guard veteran and washed up football player who now sits at a desk WAY TOO MUCH.

The past two+ years, I have been training in my garage, exclusively with Kettlebells. Specifically, I have completed the "Simple" standards of S&S, and two rounds of KB Strong (Geoff Neuport) for the Clean & Press and Front Squats with Double 24kg and Double 28kg's.

TB seems like an ideal way to satisfy my love for both Barbell and KB work AND get in the conditioning work that I need to get done. I am almost 42. Conditioning and Mobility are no longer "optional" for me. Hip and Shoulder Mobility work have to happen DAILY. I also struggle with Pull Ups because I don't train them. I don't train them because I struggle with them. Now that is out in the open, I'm going to be a grown ass man, and deal with these challenges.

Conditioning, Mobility, Pull Ups and Sitting Less. Those are my top 4 *NEEDS*. My mental well being also requires that I am constantly getting stronger.

It's been a while since I have done any Barbell work, so the weights that I am starting with are conservative, and very humbling!

The Plan:

Base Building - Rucking with 80lb vest will be my go to for "E". I'll do longer Rucks (60-90+ minutes) with a 40lb vest once per week.

Fighter Cluster: OHP, SQ, Pull Ups* and DL (1x per week).
*Following the Figher Pull Up Program - 3RM

SE: Simple and Sinister - 100 swings, 5+5 TGU

HIC: Most likely will be Resets on the airdyne bike (aka The HellBeast) in my basement. That thing sucks, but I know it will make a man out of me.

The Ask:

I am not a fragile snowflake. I can handle feedback. I try to have the mindset of a perpetual beginner, and realize that I have plenty still to learn. I am also brand new to TB, so if I do something dumb/wrong please call me on my shit.